Posted by: Sam Olsen | October 4, 2011

Fishing vs fishing – a different cultural perspective

I had a most interesting conversation with my Mandarin tutor, New Moon, yesterday. She asked how my weekend was, and I explained about Lamma Island and our tour there. As mentioned on our previous blog, we saw a number of fish restaurants, and here is some video footage of the captured fish shortly before their conversation into table snacks. I’m not a great fan of keeping all these fish in the small tanks, but there is not a lot I can do other than a Deuce Bigalow and buy all the fish for release back into the sea.

New Moon though was astounded at this. She couldn’t understand why I should be upset by the fish being kept alive in such a manner. However, when I said I liked fishing (i.e. with a rod), it was her turn to be less than happy. “But it breaks the mouth of the fish”. No it doesn’t, I said, if you use barbless hooks and catch and release. But she was not for turning.

Isn’t it interesting to see such different points of moral view? Next week I’ll broach the subject of fox-hunting – not looking forward to seeing what the Chinese moral opposite of that is. Post your ideas below!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

