Posted by: Sam Olsen | October 28, 2012

Hockey blooding

It’s finally happened. For those of you that played hockey with me at college or in the Army I have entered into familiar territory at last. Having played the whole of last season without a scratch – save for a bruised leg or two, but no blood – I ended up in hospital today with haemoglobin spurting out of my forehead. It was soon patched up, but not until I had tried two hospitals (as the first one had tried to charge me $4000 – £350 – for a stitch – enough to hospitalise anyone).

It was my first game as captain of the H’s team – the hockey section’s drinking XI, apparently – so I had to put some extra effort in. Unfortunately this extended to not blinking when faced with the possibility of a high-speed collision with a member of the opposition.

Hey-ho – at least I remained conscious this time and able to help Aggie celebrate her birthday (which is today – Happy Birthday!)

Leave a Reply

Categories

