Posted by: Sam Olsen | March 15, 2013

Good-bye-Robinson-Road

We’re moving. After a year and a half in the heart of Blade Runner country we are off out West. Not quite as far as England, but to Pokfulam, at the left-hand tip of Hong Kong Island. More space, less money; more greenery, less pollution; more commute, less night-life temptation.

I’m waiting for the removal men as I type.

In honour of our former pad, here is a rushed rehash of the Brummie bleakness-tinged tune Blackberry Way (Check out the tashes and clunking chords here)

Robinson Road
Absolutely pouring down with rain
All our things are stowed

Up with a lark
Little Larry, don’t think he’s alright
He was stirring all night

So now I’m waiting for the movers
Lost, in the things that I said
What am I supposed to do now-w

(Chorus)
Goodbye Robinson Road
I can’t see you
I don’t need you
Goodbye Robinson Road
Sure am going to miss my old abode

Gone to the zoo
All the monkeys and the birds and bears
There’s a memory there

Drinks in the pub
Unattended now, they’re all to drown
I’m incredibly down

Just like myself they are neglected
Turn, from the past to ‘Fulam
What am I supposed to do now-w

(Chorus)
Goodbye Robinson Road
I can’t see you
I don’t need you
Goodbye Robinson Road
Sure am going to miss my old abode

Ooo-black, Ooo-black, ooo-ooo
Ahhh-hhh-hhh
Ooo-black, Ooo-black, ooo-ooo
Ahhh-hhh-hhh

Head to the West
Look in front of you and see the sea
And many a tree

Robinson Road
See the concrete standing thick and grey
Not a good place to play

So full of optimism moving on
Lost in the words that I said
Know what I’m supposed to do now-w

(Chorus – repeat to fade)

Goodbye Robinson Road
I can’t see you
I don’t need you
Goodbye Robinson Road
Sure am going to miss my old abode

Leave a Reply

Categories

